CONTACT US cflogic.careerforum.in cf12plus.careerforum.in cfwings.careerforum.in
   CF Courses
   Post-A-Query
   Utilities
   CF Blogs
   Event Calender
   Share this page
 

ABOUT SSL CERTIFICATES
 
LATEST NEWS
02nd September 2010 / Times of India / Mumbai Edition
Career Forum : News Archive

Malware bugging CAT website

Officials Claim Data Secured & Test Will Not Be Affected But Students Play Safe

New Delhi: CATs online presence seems to be bugging students again, literally. Common Admission Test 2010 aspirants received a scare when they visited the official site www.catiim.in on Wednesday night as they found the portal hosting malware files.

The timing of the bug makes it even scarier as the sale of CAT 2010 vouchers and online registration started just two days ago, reminding people of the virus attacks during CAT 2009.

The site began acting up late on Tuesday, affecting a number of visitors. Whenever the site was opened a warning popped up: This web page at catiim.in has been reported as an attack page and has been blocked based on your security preferences. In fact, even Google search stated that this site may harm your computer.

CAT aspirants bank on this site for all details, dates and information, even though it is not used for online registration. Chairman of the CAT 2010 committee, Himanshu Rai of IIM-Lucknow, said: The site was infected with malware during uploading of some pages on Monday. But all the registration data is safe, as this site it does not store or contain any candidate information. This is only an information site. For online registration, aspirants need to visit https:// iim.prometric.com, which is a completely secure site.

The US-based testing company Prometric is responsible for the conduct of CAT. It issued a statement saying: Prometric has been investigating reports that IIM's CAT website www.catiim.in has been displaying warning messages on certain browsers. A malware was discovered and removed overnight. It will take several hours for the warnings to disappear from Google Chrome. As is stated at the bottom of the candidate registration page, we advise candidates to use the following approved browsers Internet Explorer version 7 or above, or Firefox version 3.0 and above.

Meanwhile, the Google search continues to show a This site may harm your computer advisory for all webpages on catiim.in. An aspirant, Rahul Bajaj (name changed on request), said: Since the registration window is open till September 30, I would like to wait rather than take unnecessary risks. Anyway, we are sceptical after what happened last year.

However, Rai assured the aspirants that all the data are secure and CAT 2010 will be a better experience. There will be apprehension, but this malware in the information site will not affect the test in any form, said Rai.

UNDER VIRUS ATTACK


Whenever the site www.catiim.in was opened, a warning popped up: This web page at catiim.in has been reported as an attack page & has been blocked based on your security preferences In fact, even Google search stated that this site may harm your computer CAT aspirants bank on this site for all details, dates and information, although it is not used for online registration.
Copyright © Career Forum Ltd. All rights reserved
Career Forum
SNAPsprint MBAsprint MATsprint